Sydney Prayer Times


Currency Converter

This converter obtains up to the minute exchange rates from Yahoo Finance

Disclaimer: ALMA do not hold any responsibility whatsoever over the consequences arising out of using this feature. This is a feature on the website to use as a guide only.
Sri Lanka Radio

About and History of ALMA Executive Committee

As per ALMA constitution, the governance of ALMA is vested with the executive committee. The executive committee consists of four office bearers – President (P), Vice President (VP), Secretary (S) and Treasurer (T). In addition this four, the executive committee consists of another five, seven or nine members that must include two Ladies Coordinators (LC). It is possible to have two Youth Coordinators (YC) within or outside the executive committee. There must be a minimum of three females in the executive committee.

Election of the executive committee is done at an AGM. The original constitution adopted in 1994 required election of office bearers at every AGM. However, this was changed in the new constitution adopted in 2004 for election of office bearers to be held every alternative year.

The constitution clearly outlines the nomination of candidates for election for the ALMA executive committee, the election process, duties and responsibilities, eligibility, powers and limitations. ALMA executive committee may appoint sub committees for specific tasks or projects.

The current executive committee consists of thirteen members. The current executive committee has its two youth coordinators within the committee.

The members of the committee are Br. Mohamed Fazli (P), Br. Rizvi Fareed (VP), Br. Azeem Nilar (S), Br. Mageeid Mohamed (T), Sr. Munawwara Rizvi (LC), Sr. Naseeha Mageeid (LC), Br. Naazer Nilar (YC), Sr. Zainab Jawahir (YC), Br. Roomi Subair, Dr. Mohamed Anzar, Br. Jabeer Cader, Br. Musabbir Hasan and Br. Alisabri Haniffa.

Currently there are three sub committees appointed by the executive committee. These are – ACEP, Community Relations, ALMA Liaison Officer. Two other sub committees - Community Development Centre building sub committee and the Community Development Centre fund raising sub committee are two committees that were allowed to continue from the previous appointment. The president in consultation with the executive committee first appoints the heads of each sub committee. Then with consultation with the heads of each sub committee the members are appointed and submitted to the executive committee for approval.

Currently Br. Ubaidur Rahmaan is director of ACEP, Br. Sithique Mohamed is head of Community Relations and Br. Abdul Gafoor is ALMA Liaison officer.

In addition to the sub committees, there are also other key players in the ALMA organisational structure. They are Editor of ALMA newsletter, ALMA auditor and trustees. Appointment of persons to these positions is as per details in the constitution.

Sr. Azaria Nufail is the current editor of the newsletter and Br. Fazal Bawa is the auditor. Three past presidents – Br. Mohamed Yoosuf, Br. Abdul Gafoor and Br. Ali Nufail are the current trustees of ALMA.

Here is a list of previous office bearers of ALMA from its inception.

ALMA Exco History

92-93 – Ameer Faizal (P), Rizvi Segu Fareed (VP), Mohamed Yoosuff (S), Ubaidur Rahmaan (T)

93-94 – Mohamed Yoosuff (P), Rizvi Segu Fareed (VP), Firdous Hameed (S), Seenar Sappideen (T)

94-95 – Rizvi Fareed (P), Seenar Sappideen (VP), Mohamed Zuhair (S), Razikin Dole (T)

95-96 – Mohamed Zuhair (P), Najma Mahmood (VP), Nizar Sappideen (S), Razikin Dole (T)

96-97 – Najma Mahmood (P), Razikin Dole (VP), Ali M Nufail (S), Rizwan Miskin (T)

97-98 – Nizar Sappideen (P), Mohamed Fazli (VP), Akram Cader (S), Sameen Shaideen (T)

98-99 – Mohinudeen Faiz (P), Nilam Mohamed (VP), Kaleel Rahman (S), Zafar Sattar (T)

99-00 – Fasiel Munas (P), Sithique Mohamed (VP), Ali M Nufail (S), Zafar Sattar (T)

00-01 – Mohamed Yoosuff (P), Rizvi Segu Fareed (VP), Fuad Dole (S), Ameer Faizal (T)

01-02 – Mohamed Yoosuff (P), Sithique Mohamed (VP), Kaleel Rahman (S), Ameer Faizal (T)

02-03 – M. Abdul Gafoor (P), Zareena Ibrahim (VP), Ubaidur Rahmaan (S), Fehraz Fallil (T)

03-04 – M. Abdul Gafoor (P), Zareena Ibrahim (VP), Ubaidur Rahmaan (S), Fehraz Fallil (T)

04-05 – Ali M Nufail (P), Faazel Muhseen (VP), Mohamed Fazli (S), Fehraz Fallil (T)

05-06 – Ali M Nufail (P), Faazel Muhseen (VP), Mohamed Fazli (S), Fehraz Fallil (T)

06-07 – Ali M Nufail (P), Magdon Ismail (VP), Mohamed Fazli (S), Fazal Bawa (T)

07-08 – Ali M Nufail (P), Faazel Muhseen (VP), Mohamed Fazli (S), Fazal Bawa (T)

08-09 – Mohamed Fazli (P), Rizvi Fareed (VP), Azeem Nilar (S), Mohamed Mageeid (T)

09-10 – Mohamed Fazli (P), Rizvi Fareed (VP), Azeem Nilar (S), Mohamed Mageeid (T)

10-11 – Mohamed Fazli (P), Rizvi Fareed (VP), Dr Mohamed Anzar (S), Alisabri Haniffa (T)

11-12 - Mohamed Fazli (P), Rizvi Fareed (VP), Dr. Mohamed Anzar (S), Alisabri Haniffa (T)


Imthiaz Issadeen (93/94, 94/95, 95/96)

Zareena Jalil (96/97 – two months)

Shifa Munas (96/97, 97/98, 98/99, 99/00)

Nisha Faizal (00/01)

Raisa Bawa (01/02)

Mohamed Fazli (02/03, 03/04)

Mohamed Anzar (04/05, 05/06)

Naleem Siddeek (06/07, 07/08)

Azaria Nufail (08/09)


Rumey Jiffrey (12/14)


Events & Activities
Eid-ul-Fitr Dinner function July 2016

ALMA had its annual Eid-ul-Fitr Dinner which also contained a segment of ACEP Ramadan competition prize giving as well. This function was attended by a sold-out record crowd of this nature ALMA ever had. It had several activities including trivia and kids games which kept all attendees fully engaged throughout the program.


Edul Fithr July 2016

Alhamdulillah, ALMA had a great Eid Celebration on 6 July 2016 at Turkish Mosque (Youth Centre) in Auburn. A large number of people attended for prayers and thereafter everyone exchanged salams and greetings with each other.

Ifthar function June 2016

On the invitation of the leader of the opposition (Parliament of NSW) and MP for Auburn, Hon Luke Foley, ALMA’s liaison officer Abdul Gafoor attended an Iftar function on 17th June 2016. Number of dignitaries including Grand Mufti of Australia, state and federal politicians, Islamic scholars, community leaders, leading school principals were among the invited guests.

Ramadan 2016

ALMA had its first (of the four) Ifthars this Ramadan on 11th June 2016 at Auburn Town Hall. Alhamdulillah, over 400 people were estimated to be present. An inspiring speech was delivered by Zac Matthews (Dr Zachariah Matthews) soon after Magrib prayers.

ALMA had the opportunity to launch the much awaited JANAZA fund and introduce the Janaza Subcommittee on that night. Alhamdulillah, over 75 family and individual members were signed up for this programme immediately. Members were also generous enough to contribute to the annual dry-rations project - the funds of which will be sent to Sri Lanka and distributed among poor and needy families in various parts of Sri Lanka next week Insha Allah.





sri lanka newspapers